RSS

Eggnog Cake

13 Oct

Hello Everyone,

I thought since it’s that time of year again I would share one of my favorite cakes to make. I love eggnog, even the pumpkin pie spice one! Ray won’t touch it, so when I buy it, I know it will all be for me!! The first time I made this cake was for my husband’s family almost 11 years ago. Every year they have a huge get-together just before Thanksgiving. Sadly because of my health and other stuff going on we have only been able to attend one of these gatherings. I wish we could go more often, Ray has a wonderful family.. Most of them live 2 or more hours from us…Traveling is really hard on me, I can’t sit in one place very long without being in pain.. Hopefully someday that will go away..Enjoy this cake, it’s really rich! Also this doesn’t have the commercial eggnog just spiced like eggnog! Yummy!! šŸ™‚

Eggnog Cake:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup whole milk

3-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. ground ginger

1 tsp. rum extract

3 large eggs

Heat oven to 350 degrees, grease and flour 2, round 8-inch pans or 1, 9×13 square pan, (since this cake is so rich I just use the 9×13 and serve it with the Eggnog Fluff, recipe below). Beat all ingredient’s in a large bowl on medium speed, scraping bowl constantly, until blended, 30 seconds. Beat on high-speed, scraping bowl occasionally, 3 minutes. Pour into pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely. Serve with eggnog fluff.

Eggnog Fluff:

Beat 1-1/2 cups chilled heavy whipping cream, (for higher peaks with your cream, use a stainless steel bowl well chilled and the beaters). Beat in 1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar, and add 1 tsp. rum extract, until stiff peaks form.

Until next time..

Amanda šŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
