RSS

Apricot Cake

18 Oct

Hello Everyone,

I have finally found an apricot cake recipe that I like. I entered a different one in the state fair and well it didn’t place to well, in fact I don’t think it placed at all.. Oh well, if I enter one next year this is the one!

Apricot Cake:

1-1/2 cups finely chopped dried apricots

1 cup boiling water

2-1/2 cups cake flour or 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup shortening

1 cup apricot nectar

1/4 cup whole milk

3-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

5 egg whites

Heat oven to 350 degrees, grease and flour 2, 9-inch round cake pans, set aside. Place apricots in a bowl and pour boiling water over and let sit for 5 minutes; drain well. Beat flour, sugar, shortening, nectar, milk, baking powder, salt and vanilla in a medium bowl with electric mixer on low-speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly. Beat on high-speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Beat in egg whites on high-speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Gently stir in apricots and pour into pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.. Cool completely, before frosting.

Apricot Frosting:

3 cups sifted powdered sugar

1/3 cup unsalted butter,softened

2-3 tbsp. apricot nectar

a pinch of popcorn salt

a few drops orange food coloring, optional

Beat ingredient’s together until smooth, frost cooled cake.. Garnish with chopped apricots, optional..

Well I had hoped by now to write about the special news I have to share, but thing’s haven’t been going to well. Going to slow if moving at all.. I know I am not making any sense, but if thing’s go well, when I write about you will see why…

Well I better go..

Amanda…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
