RSS

Apple-Blackberry Cobbler

20 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe I made up in a hurry. I meant to make a tart but I over-baked the crust and it was way to brown. The recipe said to press the crust into a un-greased tart pan, but I couldn’t find my tart pans so I used a glass pie pan instead, that was my first mistake, my second was setting the timer longer than it should have been. When I saw what it looked like, I thought ohh rats what do I do now? So, I set the pie crust aside, and moved on.. I ended up making the cobbler instead and used jar of my home-canned apple pie filling and a can of blackberry pie filling that needed to be used. No I didn’t make the blackberry pie filling, I know shame on me, but the canned filling is made by Wilderness pie company and is really good. I have used many of their fillings when I was in a hurry to bake something. I made this for a family dinner the other night and my aunt made some wonderful chicken noodle soup, my mom bake a couple of delicious apple pies, and the cobbler was my contribution to the meal.I know it was a lot of dessert, but that was ok with everyone! πŸ™‚

The apple filling is from my So Easy To Preserve canning book, and the toppimg is slightly adapted from my Betty Crocker cookbook.

Apple-Blackberry Cobbler:

1 can (1lb 5oz.) can blackberry pie filling and topping

3-1/2 cups sliced apples, if using Granny Smith apples pre-cook before using them in this recipe.

3/4 cup plus 2 tbsp. granulated sugar

1/4 cup Clear Jel

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 cup cold water

3/4 cup apple juice

yellow food coloring, optional

2 tbsp. bottled lemon juice

Topping:

1/2 cup quick cooking oats

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1/2 cup chopped and toasted pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, lightly spray a 4-quart baking dish with cooking spray. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the sugar, Clear Jel, and spices, gently mix in the remaining apple pie ingredient’s, fold in the blackberry pie filling and pour into baking dish. In another mixing bowl and with a pastry blended or a fork, mix together the topping ingredient’s together until crumbly, sprinkle over apple-blackberry pie filling. Bake for 25-30 minutes until filling is bubbling and topping is lightly browned.

Well better go, so until next time..

Amanda πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2011 in Dessert's, Pastry

 

Comments are closed.

 
