RSS

Pecan Cream Torte

23 Oct

Hello Everyone,

I was looking through my recipes I have posted on here and I noticed I have a love for pecans! There are so many pecan recipes here!! Well, they do taste good and they are good for you! I hope you enjoy this Pecan Cream Torte recipe. I made this awhile back for one of my U of I canning classes. There is a lady there who judges for me at the fair and has been a great friend to me, she always sits beside me at our meeting’s. Her comment to me about this cake was, well Amanda another 1st place cake for the fair! I have really come to like this lady a lot, I guess it’s because she has the same name as my grandmother that passed away last year, Shirley. Shirley and I have a lot in common, we both love to cook, bake, judge, can, and read cookbooks! 🙂

For Cake Batter:

1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 cups light brown sugar, lightly packed

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup whole milk

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

3 large eggs

1 cup finely chopped and toasted pecans

For Filling;

1 cup cold heavy whipping cream

2 tbsp. powdered sugar

Brown Butter Glaze:

2 tbsp. unsalted butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbsp. hot water

12-14 pecan halves

To make cake: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 3, 8-inch round cake pans; set aside. Beat all cake ingredient’s together in a large bowl (except pecans) on medium speed, scraping bowl constantly, until blended, about 30 seconds. Beat on high-speed, scraping bowl occasionally, 3 minutes. Stir in pecans. Divide cake batter evenly into cake pans. If your oven will only hold 2 cake pans, refrigerate the other cake pan until ready to bake, It may need extra time and it might not raise as high as the other cake layers. Bake cake for 20-25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pans; remove from pans and cool completely.

For Filling: Beat heavy cream with powdered sugar until stiff. For higher peaks, use a stainless steel bowl and chill the bowl and beaters before whipping the cream.

For Topping: Heat butter in a saucepan over medium heat until delicate brown. Cool slightly. Stir in powdered sugar, vanilla, and water. If necessary, stir in additional hot water 1 teaspoon at a time, until glaze is desired consistency.

To Assemble Tort: Reserve 3/4 cup whipped cream for garnish. Place one cake layer on serving plate and spread with half of remaining whipped cream, repeat with second cake layer. Place last cake layer on top and spread with Brown Butter Glaze. After glaze has set about 5 minutes, garnish with pecans and extra whipped cream. Store cake in the refrigerator. Recipe from my old Betty Crocker baking book.

I hope you all enjoy this cake as much as my friends did!  🙂

Until next time..

Amanda..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
