RSS

Daily Archives: November 3, 2011

Lemon Bar Trifle

Hello Everyone,

I WON!!! I made this for Ray’s office chili/dessert contest and I won! YES!!! My chili didn’t win, I think it was to hot for them! LOL!! I don’t think it’s real chili if it doesn’t talk back with some fire! I’ll try to post that recipe tomorrow. In the meantime here is my winning recipe!

Lemon Bar Trifle:

Crumble:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup chopped and toasted pecans

1 cup unsalted butter, melted

Lemon Layer:

1-2/3 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

1-3/4 cup cold water

3 large egg yolks, beaten

2/3 cup fresh lemon juice

2 tbsp. unsalted butter

4 tsp. lemon zest

Cream Cheese Layer:

1 package (8oz.) cream cheese, softened

3 cups sifted powdered sugar

1 carton (8oz.) frozen whipped topping, thawed

1 tsp. vanilla

In a small bowl, combine flour and pecans; stir in butter. Press into a lightly greased 9x13x2-inch baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes until light golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

In a small heavy saucepan, combine the sugar and cornstarch. Stir in water until smooth. Cook and stir over medium-high heat until thickened and bubbly. Reduce heat; cook and stir 2 minutes longer. Remove from heat. Stir a small amount of hot mixture into egg yolks; return all to pan, stirring constantly. Bring to a gentle boil; cook and stir 2 minutes longer. Remove from heat. Gently stir in the lemon juice, butter, and lemon zest. Transfer to a bowl, cool in the refrigerator, and cover surface with plastic wrap. In a large mixing bowl, beat cream cheese and powdered sugar until smooth. Fold in whipped topping and vanilla. Crumble the baked pecan mixture; sat aside 1/2 cup for topping. In a 3-quart trifle bowl, layer 1 cup each pecan mixture, lemon mixture and cream cheese mixture. Repeat layers twice. Sprinkle with reserved pecan mixture. Refrigerate leftovers. Enjoy!

Had a great belated birthday lunch with mom and Olive Garden today! Love ya mom!!

P.S. I was hoping to share my news this week, but I might not be able to, 😦  I hope I can soon, I am bursting at the seems to write about it!!

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in Dessert's