RSS

What gift would you like to anonymously send someone?

04 Nov

Hello everyone,

Here is a different topic to talk about today..My hubby and I have already sent a gift semi-anonymously. When I was baking at Ronald McDonald house, I noticed they really needed a new stand mixer. After Ray and I talked about it for a while we decided to buy a new one for them, and only a handful a people know that we did that. The Lord has really blessed us lately so we wanted to give back. I know now it won’t be a secret any longer, but that’s ok…

The other thing we did anonymously, was we would do what we called The 25 Days of Christmas. My mom saw an article about a family back east somewhere that was doing something similar, but they did it for 12 days. Well my mom wanted to take it further than that, hence the 25 Days of Christmas was born. We started out that year with just friends and family that we knew. We would leave little gifts on their doorstep for 25 days leading up to Christmas day. It was never anything to expensive, just a loaf a home-made bread, candy, cookies ect.. We almost were caught many times, we would have to leave the gifts very early in the morning like around 2am or so. When Ray and I got married we continued this for the first few years. We never told any of the people who we were, but we did get cards saying thank you to us, and one person even said thank you for reminding me what Christmas is really about, giving. We have done this for many family’s over the years and their is only one family or couple who did not like it at all! After about the 10th day into it they left me a note saying they had diet concerns and to please not bring anymore food. Well I thought that maybe other gifts would be better like, picture frames, cards ect. Well they did not like that either. The next day I came to their house all of the thing’s we had given them were shoved in a box and a rather nasty note saying STOP WE DO NOT WANT ANYMORE OF YOUR GIFTS! I was very surprised by this and hurt. A couple of days later I left them a letter explaining why we did this and they were the only people out of the maybe 100 people we did this for that acted the way they did, I was really surprised and shocked by their reaction I told them. They never knew who we were and I never went back to there house again. The only thing I knew about them was that they had moved from New York somewhere. The only think I can come up with is that maybe they didn’t celebrate Christmas or were suspicious of the food being bad. I will never know, I guess.

We had to stop doing the 25 Days of Christmas several years ago, mainly because I was sick and it was getting harder to get up in the middle of winter and being barked at by dogs and was getting harder to not get caught.. That’s why I love baking cakes for the charity group. Even through I haven’t baked a cake for them since June? I think? It’s been hard not being able to bake. Being sick these past several months have been very hard. I don’t have any energy at all. I barely get the dishes and laundry done. I feel bad for Ray, he has to do all the heavy lifting and get stuff out of cupboards for me all the time, because I can’t get on my knees, and I can’t reach anything up high. We have a step-stool, but I fell off it and ever since then Ray won’t let me on it, he’s afraid I will fall again. I didn’t hurt myself to bad, just twisted my ankle a bit..

Well I better go for now, I will post my chili recipe tomorrow, and I can’t write about my exciting news yet! RATS!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 4, 2011 in My Thoughts

 

Comments are closed.

 
