RSS

Cream Biscuits

12 Nov

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe I came up with today. I normally add milk to my baking powder biscuits, but I didn’t have any! ACK!! Since Ray and I don’t drink milk I only get 1 half-gallon once and awhile, otherwise a full gallon takes up to much refrigerator space. I have two quarts of heavy cream in the refrigerator and I don’t know why, just bought one. Must have thought I was out. I only bake and cook with it, nothing more.. So this was a good use for the cream. When we live on the dairy ranch my mom and dad would make biscuits with the cream we skimmed off the milk in the mornings, and they were really good! πŸ™‚

Cream Biscuits:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. granulated sugar

3 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1/2 cup, 1 stick unsalted butter, cold, cubed

1-1/4 cups heavy cream

In a medium mixing bowl sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add in butter and with a pastry blender, blend the flour mixture with the butter, until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add in heavy cream, and with a wooden spoon mix just until moistened. Pour dough out onto lightly floured surface. Lightly knead the dough into itself 10 times, pat out dough into about 1/2-inch thick circle. Cut desired shapes, I use a 2-inch biscuit cutter, gently press together scraps and cut out more biscuits. Place onto ungreased baking sheet, and bake at 450 degrees for 12-15 minutes. These are wonderful warm with butter and jam or honey! Enjoy!

Until next time..

Amanda πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2011 in Breads

 

Comments are closed.

 
