RSS

Orange Knots

05 Dec

Hello Everyone,

Here is a tasty bread recipe for your Christmas breakfast table or anytime!!

Orange Knots:

1 package ( 1/4 oz.) active dry yeast

1/4 cup warm water ( 110-115) degrees

1 cup warm milk ( 110-115) degrees

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp. salt

2 large eggs

1/4 cup orange juice

2 tbsp. orange zest

5-1/2 to 5-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

Orange Icing:

1 cup powdered sugar

2 tbsp. orange juice

1 tsp. orange zest

In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add the next seven ingredient’s and 3 cups flour; beat until smooth. Add enough remaining flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 5-8 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to coat the top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 2 hours. Lightly punch down dough; roll into a 16×10-inch rectangle, about 1/2-inch thick. Cut into 10-inch by 3/4-inch strips; roll lightly and tie into a knot. Place on greased baking sheets; tuck ends under. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes. Bake at 400 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire racks. Combine icing ingredient’s together until smooth; drizzle over rolls. Makes about 1-1/2 dozen. Enjoy!

We are getting more and more stuff from our old house into the new one. I am amazed at how much stuff I had in that little old house! Ray packed 15 file size boxes of my cookbooks! Plus I have several more boxes of cake pans, at least 15 very large boxes full! We will be filling up this house very soon! I love my new kitchen, I can have most of my kitchen stuff on the counter, plus easier access to the rest of them in my pantry and in cupboards. Ray has his own office and bathroom and I have my own hobby room, plus we have a guest bedroom! Love it!!

It’s kinda noisy around here they are building 2 house’s beside us and they are making room for the foundation right now. The next few weeks will be noisy around here.. Oh well, that’s the way it is, I guess!! 🙂

Until next time…

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Breads, Breakfast, Christmas Menus

 

Comments are closed.

 
