RSS

Lemon Pudding Cake

27 Dec

Hello Everyone,

I saw this recipe some time ago in the weekly publication that my newspaper used to print. I made this several times and Ray and I would eat it all up for dessert, it tastes the best warm, right from the oven. I lost the recipe and have no clue what had happened to it. A couple of weeks ago Relish magazine, it came in my email newsletter and WOW there was the recipe!!! I made this for us on Christmas day. I thought a nice tangy lemon dessert was in order for the day! This cake is like magic, it’s a really wet batter, but transform’s into a light tangy cake on top and a tangy lemon pudding on the bottom. I love how this works out that way! I know I have a chocolate cake that does this, I am thinking of making one of those sometime… Enjoy πŸ™‚

Lemon Pudding Cake:

3 tbsp. unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

4 large eggs, at room temperature

1/3 cup to 1/2 cup lemon juice

1/4 tsp. salt

3 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1 cup 2% milk, I used my rice milk and it worked out great!

Fresh raspberries for garnish

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease a 9-inch square baking dish. (Since there is a lot of acid in this dessert I would use tempered glass, not metal. You can get a metallic taste by using a metal dish.) With an electric mixer, beat the butter with the sugar until fluffy. Separate the egg yolks from the whites. Add yolks to butter mixture and beat well. Add lemon juice, salt, and flour; beat well. Add milk; stir until blended. With clean beaters, whip the egg whites until stiff. Gently fold into lemon batter. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake for 50 minutes, covering with foil for the last 10 minutes ir top becomes to brown. Serve warm or chilled with berries. I love this served warm! Enjoy!

Until next time!!!

Amanda πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 27, 2011 in Cakes, Dessert's

 

Comments are closed.

 
