RSS

This and That…

15 Jan

Hello Everyone,

With all the moving, packing and unpacking I keep forgetting to post a few thing’s going on with us around here.. I hate moving, and to think my parents moved us kids every 3 years while I was growing up! We have found things we forgot about! For instance a couple of years ago we bought our niece’s a couple Christmas present’s wrapped them up in a box and put them away in the closet. And yep didn’t find them until we unloaded the closet in November! LOL!!! I found Abby a cute teddy bear with a bumble bee on its nose at a flee market in the summer a couple of years ago, she LOVES stuffed animals! Also a while ago I bought a Cross for Jacquelyn from an Avon lady. The box was so small that I thought I had lost it! So they got there belated Christmas presents this year along with a few other present’s we bought them. Oh well, I suppose stuff like that happens to us all! πŸ™‚

A couple of weeks ago I decided to take one cake for Community Cakes for an elderly lady. It’s the first cake I have baked in 7 months? I think? I would like to bake more but with my health I know I can’t.. Bummer..

In December I did make two recipes from Food Networks magazine. I wanted to try a couple more but just could not muster up the energy or enthusiasm for it. Here are the two recipes I made. On page 114, the Hot Brown Turkey Sandwich. I really liked this but Ray well, sometimes he frustrates me. He doesn’t like tomatoes on anything, just by themselves with salt and pepper is all he wants. I said oh jee whiz can’t you just try it this way? He said no… grrrrrrr!!!!! He has his weird idea’s and he would say the same about me!! Many years ago we were talking about something and I was confused about some idea’s he had. I don’t remember what we were talking about but as I walked away from him I muttered Ray you are a strange weird man! I didn’t think he heard me.. He did! Ever since then it’s been a running joke with us. He signs all his email, letters and cards to me SWM. We have even decided it will be on his headstone and on mine it will say “Married to a strange weird man”. If your confused about all this, that’s ok. πŸ™‚ Jokes between couples are not often understood by anyone else…

Next Food Network magazine we tried is on page 158 Lidia Bastianich’s Shrimp Scampi, we loved it. Served it with crusty bread to mop up the buttery juices and a salad! Delicious! Also can you be believe it’s my first time making shrimp scampi? It is! I have made many shrimp dishes and this was one of the easiest recipe’s for shrimp and the best I have ever made! We ate all of it! Oh and I did cut the recipe in half so we didn’t eat a full two pounds of shrimp, just one. Two pounds of shrimp would have been way to much!!

We had our first dinner party last night. It was my dad and step-mom. They flew in from Omaha, we don’t get to see them very much. We couldn’t use our dining room yet, to many boxes in there.. Hopefully the next time they come we can eat in there. I made homemade pizza, and not store-bought, dough or sauce either!! All from scratch. It was the first time I got to use my pizza board! LOVED IT!! I also made a sausage pizza soup, with lots of fresh veggies, ceaser salad, and chocolate cream cheese brownies. They loved it! It was so nice to have people over, I haven’t been able to for a long time. We had a great time with them! By the way I will try to post the recipes later in the week.

Well that’s all for now, need to finish up the cake!

Amanda πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in My Thoughts

 

Comments are closed.

 
