RSS

Sausage Pizza Soup

23 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Here is the recipe I made for my parents last week. Ever since I saw this recipe I had been dying to try it, and with my parents coming I thought this was the perfect time! We all ate 2 bowls of this delicious soup! Enjoy!

Sausage Pizza Soup:

3 tbsp olive oil

1 pound Italian turkey sausage links, casings removed

2 medium zucchini, sliced

2 cups fresh sliced mushrooms

2 small onions, chopped

2 green bell peppers, chopped

1 small head of garlic, cloves peeled and minced

2 cans (14.5 oz.) Italian style diced tomatoes, with basil, garlic, and oregano, undrained

4 cups water

2 tbsp. chicken base, I get this at Costco, or you can use 4 chicken bouillon cubes

2 tbsp. fresh basil paste, It’s made by Gourmet Garden and is organic and found with the other fresh herbs in  tubes, I love this stuff!

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, optional

Freshly grated parmesan cheese, for topping.

Garlic croutons, for topping

In a large cooking pot over medium-high heat and the oil. Add in the sausage and break up any clumps and cook just until lightly browned. Add in the zucchini, mushrooms, onions, bell pepper, and garlic. Let cook until softened and slightly browned. Add in the 2 cans of tomatoes, water, chicken base, basil paste, black pepper, and red pepper. Cook for 1/2 hour on medium heat, just until the veggies are tender and the flavors blend together. Top each bowl with parmesan cheese and garlic croutons. This soup was even better the next day!

*** Notice I didn’t add any salt? It’s because the tomatoes have salt and so does the chicken base. If you want to add salt, just make sure to taste it before adding any. We didn’t add any, because the parmesan cheese and croutons add all the salt we needed. Enjoy!

A funny thing happened that night. As most of you know I have my share of health problems and ever since I have been off steroids I am really tired and sluggish. I had dessert made, had the pizza stuff ready to go when my parents got here, and I was just finishing up getting the soup together when they showed up. All I had on was my nightgown and an apron! I said oh on they can’t be here already? I told them to please excuse me for just a bit while I go shower and get some clothes on. They were fine with that, they are very laid-back people! LOL!! Ray showed them around the house and all the new stuff we have bought since we moved in. They had only seen the house bare before they left for Omaha. We had a great time with them!!! Next week we get the movers to come and get the rest of the furniture. I can’t wait for all this moving, sorting of stuff, and trashing of some of the stuff. Right now as I type this I have 12 file size boxes of my books, that need to be put away.. Uggg!!! We will get it done!

My health is doing ok, other than my right leg and back is giving me a lot of trouble. We went to the ER today, and they gave me a pain shot, plus some better pain medication. The other pain medication I have wasn’t helping the back and leg pain at all. I am seeing a Orthopedist this week and getting an MRI of my back and leg. The ER Dr. thinks I might need surgery for this. I hope not! I was hoping the physical therapy would help, but it made the pain feel worse. It’s been so bad I haven’t been able so sleep, and I can’t stand very long.

Well until next time..

Amanda 🙂

Recipe was slightly adapted for Taste of Home.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Soups

 

Comments are closed.

 
