RSS

Turkey and Vegetable Meatloaf

26 Jan

Turkey and Vegetable Meatloaf:

Meatloaf:

2 tbsp. Olive oil

5 green onions, chopped

1 large celery stalk, peeled and chopped

1 large carrot, peeled and chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 can (14.5 oz.) fire roasted tomatoes, drained

½ tsp. dried thyme

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Heat oil in a skillet on med-high heat, add in the green onions, celery, and carrot cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in the garlic, thyme and tomatoes. Cook until fragrant and until some of the tomato juices have evaporated, about 8 minutes. Set aside to cool for 5 minutes.

Topping:

½ cup ketchup

¼ cup packed light brown sugar

4 tsp. apple cider vinegar

Mix all 3 ingredients together until smooth, set aside.

Meatloaf:

2 large eggs

2/3 cup buttermilk

2 tsp. Chipotle mustard

2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp. salt

½ tsp. black pepper

¼ tsp. Tabasco

1 lb. ground turkey

1 lb. ground turkey sausage

2 cups Panko bread crumbs

1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley

In a large bowl, mix all meatloaf ingredients together, I use my hands. Do not over-mix, or your meatloaf will be tough. Mix in the vegetable mixture. Place meatloaf in a 9×5-inch loaf pan. (I use a stone-ware baking pan, it holds in the juice’s better, as turkey meatloaf can get dried out very easy and they retain the heat longer.) Brush half of topping onto meatloaf. Bake meatloaf for 1 hour, then brush with remaining topping. Bake another 35-40 minutes until an instant read thermometer reads 175 degrees. Let rest and it will reach 180 degrees with carry-over cooking. Let cool for 15 minutes before slicing. Enjoy 🙂

I know I have made a lot of meatloaf in just one day, but there is a story behind all this. Last week I wasn’t feeling well at all. Ray was going to Costco, and asked me if I wanted him to bring anything back for dinner. I said yes, but please no pizza, the last 2 times I ate their pizza I got sick, it’s just my food sensitivities coming back. And I didn’t want chicken, getting tired of roasted chicken! I said to him they have already prepared food entrée’s in the cooler in the back, why don’t you see what they have there. He said ok, I’ll do that.. He came home with 2 different entrée’s, chicken enchiladas, which were really good! And meatloaf with mashed potatoes. I could tell they were made from scratch, they did not have a box taste that so many prepared entrée’s have. I really loved the meatloaf, in fact a meatloaf sandwich is my favorite! I slice the meatloaf, spread a little butter on the bread and it’s delicious. I love the meatloaf so much that within 2 days I ate all of it making sandwiches out of it. The loaves were not very big, about 4×2-inch’s in size, and covered in ketchup. I barely touched the mashed potatoes. Well needless to say I made Ray upset with me for eating all the meatloaf, he had only one small slice of it the day he brought them home. He was pretty mad at me.. I said I was sorry and I would make it up to him. That’s why I made the bacon-wrapped meatloaf yesterday. Well I am no longer in the dog-house, for now at least!!! LOL!! He asked me yesterday after I posted the recipe if I talked about why I made the meatloaf, and I said no. Only because I was tired and didn’t feel like writing about it. So now you all know my dirty little secret, I LOVE meatloaf!!!

Well better go for now, I need to get some house work done and put away 12 file size boxes of my books! And I have more in storage! YIKES!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in Meats

 

Comments are closed.

 
