RSS

Daily Archives: February 15, 2011

Lemoncello Liquor Cake

Hello Everyone,

So sorry to disappoint you all but I didn’t make my Valentines dessert. I have been sick all weekend, icky…  I will try really hard to get it done tomorrow…

Here is the cake I made for my U of I food safety class the other day, most of the recipe is from the insert of one of my Nordic Ware cake pans. I changed it up a bit. I am in love with my Nordic Ware cake pans. I have at least 12 different pans with different designs. I am drooling over the rose cake pan and the mini rose cake pans. I hope my hubby will buy them for me when my Birthday comes around in June. Ack that’s a long time to wait through!! I’ll just have to keep dropping hints in the next couple of months and hopefully he’ll get them!!

Lemmoncello Liquor Cake:

1-1/4 cups unsalted butter, softened (2-1/2 sticks)

2-1/4 cups granulated sugar

4 large eggs, at room temperature

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup whole milk

1/4 cup Lemoncello Liquor

lemon zest from 2 large lemons

Raspberry jam, whipped cream or powdered sugar for garnish

Heat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a 12-cup bundt pan. In a mixing bowl cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, just until mixed in. Add vanilla, baking powder, salt, and zest. Add in milk, liquor, and flour in alternating times. and blend together just until all ingredient’s are blended well. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour, or until cake tester comes out clean. The cake will fall slightly in the center, but don’t worry about it. Let it cool in your cake pan for about 15 minutes and flip it onto your serving dish. It should pop right out. Once cool drizzle with melted raspberry jam or serve with whipped cream or dusted with a little powdered sugar.

 Mine looked great in the center the day after and you couldn’t even tell in had sunk a little in the center. What happened was my husband came home from work while the cake was in the oven and he always call’s for our dog when he open’s the door. Casper is a 90lb lab and sounds like an elephant running to the door sometimes. My husband also can really stomp around, I know it’s not on purpose. So next time I make a delicate cake like this I will make sure I make it way before Ray gets home, so I won’t have to worry about the dog and him stopping through the house!! LOL!!

Well I better go for now, getting very sleepy…

Until next time…

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2011 in Cakes